Simple Symphony & Other Works – The Season Heats Up With A Burst Of New & Original Works

This content has been archived. It may no longer be relevant

Because I said so…  | Music by Claude Bolling
Sylvia pas de deux  | Music by Leo Delibes
Simple Symphony  | Music by Benjamin Britten
And a new work with music by Sergio Assad performed live on stage by the Fog City Guitar Duo

Friday, February 27, 2015 – 7:30pm
Saturday, February 28, 2015 – 4:00pm

Eissey Campus Theatre
At Palm Beach State College
11051 Campus Drive, Palm Beach Gardens

Tickets at or 561.207.5900

Palm Beach Gardens, FL – Simple Symphony & Other Works is a mixed repertory program with four ballets featuring new and original works with humor, romance, and live classical guitar music.  Performances are at the Eissey Campus Theatre at Palm Beach State College, Friday, February 27 at 7:30 pm and Saturday, February 28 at 4pm.  Enjoy a special post performance surprise after Saturday’s performance and meet the dancers of Ballet Palm Beach including the company’s newest members Mauris Martinez and Luise Miguel.  Tickets start at $15 and can be purchased at or by calling the Eissey Campus Theatre at 561.207.5900.

The program opens with Because I said so a whimsical original work with music written by present day French jazz musician Claude Bolling.  Inspired by childhood memories of things your mother said, this fun-filled relatable piece brings a dose of humor to the stage.

Next, romance heats up the stage in a mythical setting with the pas de deux from the ballet Sylvia.  The ballet is choreographed by Clara Cravey, associate professor of ballet at the University of Oklahoma, to music written in the late nineteenth century by French composer Leo Delibes. This exquisitely challenging pas de deux showcases the ballet talent and artistry of principal dancers Rogelio Corrales and Lily Ojea.

Ballet Palm Beach then presents its newest original work (not yet named) to live accompaniment by the Fog City Guitar Duo.  This piece is dedicated to street performers, also known as buskers, and how they inspire people when they least expect it.  The music is by present day Brazilian guitarist and composer Sergio Assad.

The program finale is original work Simple Symphony with music written in the early 1930’s by English composer Benjamin Britten.  “Simple Symphony was inspired by Benjamin Britten’s magnificent score and is dedicated to our ballet mistress Claudia Cravey.  Claudia has shared her wealth of experience touching the lives of so many dancers throughout the world.  She has been instrumental in the growth of our dancers and has clearly impacted how the company looks as a whole.” says Artistic Director Colleen Smith.

No Comments

Leave a Reply

We believe in great performances.

[Photography by Steven Caras © All Rights Reserved]